Setting some goals

Cross-country season is looming and my subconscious, in denial about the fact that I haven’t run a cross-country race in nearly 2 years and have no team camp, time-trials, or 20-page NCAA “we own your soul now” document signing meetings in my future, is getting unreasonably giddy.  Instead of focusing on how much I miss XC, I decided to focus on the races that I can run, and figure out what I want to get out of this year of running.

Goals for Fall:

  1. Complete foot healing – this one takes precedence, since I can’t run on an injured foot, and don’t want a persistent ‘niggle’ catching up with me later on.
  2. Use what fitness I have to do as well as possible in my upcoming races (a couple longer trail races and a couple low-key 5k’s)
  3. Half-marathon p.r. – shouldn’t be too difficult since my only 13.1 was on trails at 7000 feet elevation.  If everything is going well, I plan to sign up for a half on the roads in October.
  4. Build a good base for some Spring track and road races.  

There are some small steps that I need to take in order to reach my goals.  Mainly, do my foot PT (have really been slacking on this lately and have the inflamed tendons to prove it), start doing drills before/after runs to improve form and strength, and keep gradually increasing mileage and intensity.

I’ll discuss some of the foot PT and auxiliary drills that I plan to add into my schedule in the next post 🙂

2 thoughts on “Setting some goals

Leave a Reply

