Time to do some sewing!

I’ve been seeing some neat singlets at the running store lately – they are made of a stretchy mesh material which would be perfect for the summer heat.  They are a little sheer, but more coverage than a sports bra.  Here’s one of my favorites from Oiselle: http://www.oiselle.com/shop/running-tops/mio-mesh-tank.  Isn’t it lovely and breezy looking?  Although I’m generally comfortable in a sports bra, I’m sometimes a little self conscious prancing about half naked, especially if I’m running on campus where I’m liable to bump into some of my students or some of the faculty that I’m working for/taking courses from.  The mesh would be perfect – cool enough to avoid unnecessary roasting, but enough cover to feel prim and proper ha ha 😉

Unfortunately, each of the tops that I’ve seen are about $50 – $60.  That’s a bit on the pricey side considering my stipend level.  Rather than purchasing the tanks, I think I might buy a couple yards of fabric (definitely less than $50!) and sew some custom-made running tops for myself before the summer ends 🙂

Here’s a few sketches of what I’m envisioning: 

Image

Image

 

Image

 

Might make the back cut-outs with a contrasting mesh underneath rather than bare, or do some layering with some a larger weave of the same mesh color for texture.  

Now I’ve just got to get over to Joanne’s and see what my options are for fabric…

3 thoughts on “Time to do some sewing!

  1. Thanks Rebecca! Yea, I’ll see if I can put together a little tutorial – I don’t usually put much thought into how I sketch, but I think that could be fun 🙂

  2. Pingback: Sketching – some examples and discussion of my technique/methods | This is a bit random, but...

Leave a Reply

