Signs that Fall is coming – teaching workshops full of sleepy grad TAs

Signs that Fall is coming - teaching workshops full of sleepy grad TAs

I attended the annual teaching workshop this morning. What did I learn?

1) Coffee is a very good thing when you suddenly find yourself in a series of early morning, hour long lecture-style workshops after a summer of glorious lecture-less days.

2) The appropriate people to contact if my students literally try to maim and/or kill me. Gee, that’s a nice positive way to start things off…

3) A few new ways to facilitate classroom discussions. These will actually be really helpful 🙂 Glad to have some new tools to combat the awkward silence and “don’t call on me!” eye-contact avoidance that usually follows my attempts at student participation! Nothing makes me feel more lame than having to answer my own discussion questions.

Leave a Reply

