Time to get some speed back, snail style ;)

Time to get some speed back, snail style ;)

I finally got to my base mileage goal of ~20 miles last week. I’m planning to take one more week easy and then start adding in some base-training style workouts to remind my legs what a sub-8:00 minute mile feels like ๐Ÿ˜›

I’ve been gradually building up to doing 4 real strides after my runs (as opposed to don’t-hurt-the-toe strides, which consist of running like a compensating, gait-compromising doofus). I can actually go full-speed now without pain and without any noticeable gait issues! Very exciting I assure you ๐Ÿ˜‰ Over the next couple weeks I’ll add in some up-tempo runs (short runs ~30 seconds per mile faster than regular, easy-pace runs), some glorified stride workouts on the track (if they ever clear the snow offโ€ฆ), and some good old fartleks.

I am ridiculously excited to finally be able to let the reins out a little and get some turnover back in my legs! I know I’m going to feel slow and there’s going to be some sore muscles involved, but I just can’t help it – I’m really looking forward to being able to push it again ๐Ÿ™‚

Any one out there have some favorite getting-back-into-it early season workouts? I can make up about a million fartlek variations but I’d love to hear what other fun little rust-busting sessions people have come up with ๐Ÿ˜‰

Leave a Reply

