Long run – getting better!

Today’s long run was way better than last week’s! I hit about the same overall paces but just felt way less crummy (in spite of closing down the bar with some friends last night…oops). I hit the horse trail instead of the paved walking path since there weren’t any horse groups out this morning.

IMG_20140628_084734

It’s so much prettier (and shadier, yay!) than the manicured grass along the pavement:

IMG_20140628_083923

 

I managed 7.5 miles total and felt pretty great til the last 1.5. I am a little embarrassed to admit that I stopped with 1 to go and ate a GU 😛 I usually feel like I shouldn’t need any fuel for anything under 10 miles (especially when they cost $1-2 each!), but I’d packed one along since I hadn’t had time to eat more than a handful of cereal for breakfast. On the plus side the GU pepped my legs up and let me finish strong and I figured out a new way to close the GU back up when I only want ½:

Mini binder clips! Tear, slurp, and close like so:

IMG_20140628_112519

May be a bit fussy for races but worked well here – no GU in my back pocket at the end of the run ha ha.

 

I sped through the last mile & actually had the energy to do things like stretch & roll out when I got home instead of crumpling to the floor and taking a little nap on the carpet. I might actually be getting some of my endurance back!

 

Any readers have cool tips for dealing with GU/other fuel during races?

Leave a Reply

