I meant to do mayyyyybe 9 miles today…

And ended up getting over-excited and doing 14. Oops!

IMG_0547

All the hill repeats, long (hilly) runs, stationary bike workouts (ugh!), and the single weight training session that I didn’t skip (oops) paid off! I ran my big scary uphill 10k today and managed to hang on for 2nd place and a $50 cash prize ๐Ÿ˜€ So I guess I’m a professional athlete nowโ€ฆbetter just quit grad school and make my living on the roads ha ha ๐Ÿ˜‰

The race really was amazing – although the last 2 (steep!) miles totally kicked my butt. I had to resort to speed-walking 30 steps, running 150 – 200 steps, and repeating just to keep my screaming quads from giving out. The weather was gorgeous (50 and sunny) but also involved 30 mph winds! Perfect for a bunch of crazy runners and cyclists!

As usual, there were some awesome running folks and I was lucky enough to enjoy the 1st four miles of the race with a behavioral science student who ended up finishing just ahead of me (dang him and his psychology tricks, he managed not to walk at all!) and chatted through the cool down (back down the mountain, wheeeeee!) with a bad-ass runner-mom/exercise scientist. Great company all around ๐Ÿ™‚

And now I *really* need to work on my defense presentation, because I don’t think $50 dollar paydays are actually going to pay the bills ๐Ÿ˜‰

9 thoughts on “I meant to do mayyyyybe 9 miles today…

    • Thanks! I was really happy with 2nd – found out the gal who placed first (and kicked my butt by 10+ minutes!) was an Olympic team member on the Nordic ski team. I defend on the 17th :S Finally caught up on your blog – are you still defending the 24th?

      • That’s super cool! Can’t say I’ve run with any Olympians before.

        Yep, still defending on the 24th, in fact just saw the posters go up today announcing it. Best of luck to you! Dare I ask how preparation is going? ๐Ÿ˜›

      • Yea it makes for a good story even if she totally trashed me ha ha. Let’s see – I just got a set of slides back, which my advisor strongly implied are total crap. I should *maybe* have done the formatting while not *also* watching the NYC marathon :S Oh, and in the process of making those I found several typos in the “final” (hahahahaย…) draft that I sent to my committee. *sigh* But at least I’m not panicking yet! Hope your prep is going a little better than mine ha ha

      • Ooo the NYC marathon was *awesome*. Definitely worth a few typos ๐Ÿ™‚

        About the “final” draft, yeah pretty much. I haven’t read it through from beginning to end yet pretty much because I know I’m going to find horrible simple little mistakes everywhere, and I’ll want to start throwing things out en masse. Glad you’re not panicking! I feel like that’s probably the key to the whole thing ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

