Slowing down

A recent run with my running buddy made me realize that maybe if I don’t want to keep getting hurt, I need to slow the heck down. Instead of doing my ‘easy’ runs at 7:30 pace, I should be doing them around 8:30 pace to let my legs recover and prevent unnecessary strain on my calves, feet, etc. on my recovery days.

Luckily, with my recent move to an elevation of 8500+ feet, anything faster than 8:30 pace feels like death, and the breathtaking (ha ha) scenery forces me to slow down and enjoy the view.

IMG_1442

So far (3 short runs) my calf and foot have both been feeling better than they did a few weeks ago when I tried to come back by running my normal, up-tempo “recovery” pace. I’m planning to utilize my GPS to check my pace and keep it smart and controlled as I gradually build up my mileage.

Leave a Reply

