I ran 7.5 miles today!!!

I ran 7.5 miles today! Which is my first run over 7 miles since DECEMBER. I couldn’t believe this when I first skimmed through my training log, but I guess that calf injury + the IT band flare-up really did smother my Spring and Summer training more than I’d remembered.

IMG_4440

7.5 sweet miles of trail.

Part of me is really frustrated by the fact that it’s been ¾ of a year since I ran over 7 miles. However, I have noticed that I’ve been more appreciative of my runs lately and, having taken a break from workouts or structured training beyond a general mileage goal/limit each week, have become better at just running for the pure joy of running rather than with a training goal in mind.

Thinking more deeply about the last few frustrating years I am starting to see them as worthwhile contributors to my running, which is definitely not something I could have said even last year. When I consider how differently I feel about running now versus during the last few frustrating seasons of collegiate competition I can see what a difference it has made to be forced to train and plan more casually over the last few years than during any previous running seasons. Viewed as a mental re-set this span of running is much less down heartening than when viewed, more negatively, as a physical pause-rewind-pause-rewind-pause, etc.

I am of course still hoping to move forward physically, but for now I can appreciate the mental benefits and focus on carrying my improved mentality forward with any physical advances.

One thought on “I ran 7.5 miles today!!!

  1. Fall is my favorite time of the year for running. I think its the sound of crunching leaves more than anything. I like to pretend I am Godzilla.

Leave a Reply

